Member Management

Best practices for adding, managing, and removing team members.

Managing Members in Trello Enterprise

For users to have access to your Enterprise features, you’ll need to add them to your teams. We offer a variety of tools to add, remove, or disable team members for team admins. We suggest having a role-based admin address (such as trelloadmin@yourdomain.com) added as an admin to all your teams, and then logging in to that account to make member changes.

Reach out to your account manager for more information on how to set up that admin address.

What Can Team Members See?

Team members can see the following things:

  • Any team-visible boards
  • Any private team boards to which they’ve been invited as a member

Team membership doesn’t control whether someone has access to boards outside of the team, and team membership doesn’t grant access to private boards within the team. Team admins can see private boards within the team, however.

Deleted or deactivated users are removed from:

  • Team-visible boards
  • Private boards in the team from which they’re being removed (unless expressly disabled)
  • Public boards in the team from which they’re being removed (they will still be able to view them, but not make changes to them)

Bulk Add

If you need to add many people to a team at once (usually because of a new hire class or making a new team), first log in to your team admin account.

  1. Go to https://www.trello.com/support/bulk-add
  2. Select the team to which your members need to be added, and paste their addresses into the textbox
  3. Click the button at the bottom of the page, and those members will be added to your team

Bulk Deactivate

We recommend deactivating users rather than deleting them from your team completely. This preserves them on any cards to which they were previously assigned, allowing you to more easily transfer their work to others. It will prevent them from accessing the team or any team boards.

Your account manager can help generate a list of inactive users that you can remove from your team (helpful if you want to limit access to active users). We strongly suggest removing inactive users before trying to enforce SSO.

  1. Go to https://www.trello.com/support/bulk-deactivate
  2. Select the team from which your members need to be deactivated, and paste their addresses into the textbox
  3. Click the button at the bottom of the page, and those members will be deactivated from your team
  4. If team members weren’t in the team beforehand, the tool will ignore them (they’ll be listed in the message shown once the tool has completed the deactivation)

Bulk Remove

Generally speaking, we recommend deactivating users over deleting them. Deactivating preserves a record of a user having been part of a team, whereas deleting does not.

That said, if you do need to bulk delete users, you can do so by following these steps:

  1. Go to https://www.trello.com/support/bulk-remove
  2. Select the team from which your members need to be deleted, and paste their addresses into the textbox
  3. Click the button at the bottom of the page, and those members will be deleted from your team
  4. If team members weren’t in the team beforehand, the tool will ignore them (they’ll be listed in the message shown once the tool has completed the deletion)

Next Up: Member Removal →