Removing Someone From An Enterprise

If someone leaves your company, this article walks through how to securely remove them from Trello.

Removing Someone From An Enterprise

If someone leaves your company, this article walks through how to securely remove them from Trello. Right now we don’t offer automatic deprovisioning, so you’ll need to make changes in both your SSO IDP and your Trello teams.

Within Trello

You’ll need to deactivate that user from any teams of which they were a member in order to prevent them from having access to team boards of which they were a member. This is particularly important if you’re not using enforced SSO, because users can still log in using a Trello email and password.

To deactivate someone, log in to an admin Trello account (your account manager will have worked with you to set this up). Then:

  • Go to https://www.trello.com/support/bulk-deactivate
  • Select the first team in the drop-down menu
  • Type in that person’s email address in the provided text box
  • Click the green button to deactivate them
  • You will see a message indicating that they’re deactivated
  • Repeat this process for each team available in the drop down menu

This will stop that person from accessing any Trello information stored in your teams.

In your SSO IDP

If you’re using SSO to log in to Trello, you will likely want to deprovision your former colleague’s SSO account. Stopping them from being able to log in through the IDP will prevent them from logging in to Trello if you’re in an enforced SSO situation.

Your internal IT team can provide guidance on your internal deprovisioning process.

Next Up: Support Options →